Who We Are

The Community and Children’s Resource Board of St. Charles County was created by the St. Charles County Council in 1997 by County Ordinance 97-152. This Board replaced the St. Charles County Community Mental Health Board of Trustees and began meeting in June of 1998. Board members are appointed by the County Executive and approved by the St. Charles County Council. Members serve three-year terms, but may be reappointed. All members must be St. Charles County residents and registered voters in the County. No Board member or staff may be an employee, board member or volunteer of any agency or organization receiving financial assistance from the Resource Board.

It was through the Resource Board and several local mental health agencies, including Compass Health (formerly Crider Health Center), Youth In Need, and Family Advocacy and Community Training that St. Charles County applied for a federal grant from the Centers for Mental Health Services in Washington DC. In October of 1998, St. Charles County was awarded a 6-year, $7.1 million grant to serve children with a serious emotional disorder and their families, later adding on an additional $1.5 million for a seventh year. This program is called Partnership with Families. The Resource Board was responsible for overseeing the entire grant, including all financial aspects, clinical work and research.

The federal grant ceased in the fall of 2005, but funding for the continuation of this model project was made available through the passage of Proposition 1. (November 2004), which created a Children’s Community Services Fund, realized from County sales tax revenues. In October 2006, the Children and Family Services Authority was renamed the Community and Children’s Resource Board (CCRB).

In addition to its responsibilities of administering funds from the Children’s Community Services Fund, the CCRB also oversees local funding for the Children’s Trust Fund license plate program. The CCRB awards funds to local agencies for child abuse and neglect prevention programs each year.

Comments are closed.